Accepting Applications for 2016 Cocoa Fellowships for Western Africa

  |   Stakeholder Notice

USDA, in cooperation with the World Cocoa Foundation (WCF), is now accepting applications from West Africa for 2016 Cocoa Borlaug Fellowships. The fellowships, under the auspices of 2016 Norman E. Borlaug International Agricultural Science and Technology Fellowship Program, are part of a joint USDA-WCF initiative to improve cocoa production in developing countries worldwide. Fellows will work one-on-one with a mentor at a U.S. university, research center or government agency, usually for 6-12 weeks. The U.S. mentor will later visit the fellow’s home institution to continue collaboration. 

Eligible Countries: Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, and Nigeria. 

Targeted Research Areas:

  • Genomics, genetics and breeding
  • Plant propagation methods
  • Pests/diseases – entomology, plant pathology, and control methods – particularly for cocoa mirids, swollen shoot virus and black pod rot
  • Soil fertility and plant nutrition
  • Agroforestry
  • Climate Change – sustainable agriculture practices

Application Deadline: September 30, 2015

Visit the Borlaug Fellowship Program page to learn more about the program and to apply online.