The G20 (short for Group of 20) is the international forum, founded in 1999, that brings together the world’s major economies. Its membership includes both industrialized and developing nations that collectively account for approximately 80 percent of gross world product (GWP), 75 percent of international trade, 64 percent of the global population, and 60 percent of the world's land area.

In addition to an annual summit attended by the Heads of State of member nations, other G20 gatherings include ministerial meetings, Sherpa meetings (where negotiations and consensus building take place), working groups, and special events held throughout the year. Led by FAS, USDA is an active participant in the annual Agriculture Ministers' Meeting and other G20 events.

The G20 is composed of 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkiye, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and the European Union.

News and Features

India has agreed to reduce tariffs on its imports of U.S. turkey, duck, cranberries and blueberries, creating new market opportunities for U.S. producers and exporters in the world’s most populous nation.
Deputy Secretary Jewel Bronaugh traveled to Bali Sept. 27-29 to attend the G20 Agriculture Ministers’ Meeting, making the case for joint action on food security, climate, agricultural innovation, sustainable productivity growth, and closer global integration through trade.
Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack joined agriculture ministers from the rest of the G20 in Florence Sept. 16-18, 2021, to discuss sustainable solutions to the global challenges facing agriculture